Re: Why is EA/Respawn the bad guy for loot boxes?

by powermadmatt

Original Post

Why is EA/Respawn the bad guy for loot boxes?

★★★★ Novice

If you have this attitude about Apex/EA/Respawn then I think that you are wrong to have this attitude, you DO NOT deserve to get lots of progression,unlocks, skins, and everything for FREE whilst the developers have spent millions to make this game. I work in the software development industry so let me explain;

A game developers salary is anywhere between 25,000 - 70,000GBP per year depending on their experience and coding skills. There will probable be about 20 programmers working on the game, meaning they are spending 500,000-1,400,000GBP per year just on programmers salaries. Then you have graphic designers, Music, art, producers, etc; and on top of that they will have software license fees, bills, HR staff, etc meaning they are now spending millions of GBP per year making this game. probably running into the 10's of millions per year to make the game, and since the game isnt finished whilst they are making it, they are spending their own money in the process to get a finished product, taking a chance on a game that could fail.