Should I try to join a squadron if I apparently suck?

by BullitMagnit74

Original Post

Should I try to join a squadron if I apparently suck?

★ Guide

The subject says it all. There is no consistency in my game. Sometimes i'll get a lot of kills/few deaths, other times im slaughtered and 1 kill / multiple deaths.

I am loathe to try and join a squadron just for them to ridicule me and tell me i blow. I've seen many memes about 'with friends like that' showing people on Squadrons with 0-10 kill ratio.

And i have no multiplayer friends to play/train with either.

And even tho my HOTAS has improved after the patch, i'm still very much all over the map sometimes trying to steady the joystick. I'm still trying out diff settings to sensitivity trying to nail down that control.

I am new to the whole Discord thing and don't know how to start chats etc.

TOTAL N00B here.

So any advice on where i should go to try, or where i can go to meet some friendly likeminded non unltra competitive folk to play and train with and learn the ropes. I'm a little out of my era since being days of DOOM, StarCraft 2 and Unreal Tourny. My last real internet multiplayer fracas was during CounterStrike 1.6 days if that tells you my approx age.

Message 1 of 7 (631 Views)

Re: Should I try to join a squadron if I apparently suck?

★★★ Novice

I just play for fun. I don't really care if my team wins or loses. If you win, what do you win? Money? If the answer isn't money or lots of money, I couldn't give a hoot.

Sure it's annoying to get shot by the same guy over and over. But after the match, people move onto the next one. So just play the game however you want to play and don't worry about people criticising you.

Message 2 of 7 (599 Views)

★★ Apprentice

The problem is that if you play without friends and only with randoms, your chances of success will be random, too.