Re: RIP Lifeline

by dSKyNafinchin

Original Post

★★ Expert

@Axs5626Sxa5001 wrote:
@maximas1986

Fact 1) Having a healer/medic can be difficult to balance, and if said character is very strong, they instantly become a must pick.

Fact 2) When your healer/medic is actually under-powered, it’s a slap in the face to the people who want to support their team.

I’m not a game coder, so I don’t know how difficult the role is. But I have played a multitude of other games that have done better jobs at managing healing roles and or abilities. Respawn is definitely missing the mark on this character right now and it’s a disservice to people who invested time and money to the legend.

This is a valid point in both online video games, and tabletop RPGs as well.

Every D&D group has a cleric or other healer. It was required. 4th edition tried to get away form that by letting everyone have some self healing, and it went over like a led ballon, so Clerics and Druids are once again dang near required in every party.

Guild Wars 1 had everyone looking for Monks. They took monks away in GW2, everyone could heal, but the second classes got better at it for teams, they became meta (right now, Guardians and Engineers).

It's a hard equation, because in games healing is quick. In the real world, after getting shot with a burst from a R-301 (assuming they survived) that character would still be recovering for a week (while better than today's medical tech, it's still not magic. Except maybe for Rev...). But no one wants to wait a week to queue again when they get shot once.

Message 21 of 38 (349 Views)

★★ Pro

I love lifeline, she is basically the only legend I use. I have about 14,000 kills with her, and close to 700 wins. I have spend a lot of money on her. 

And now....she is basically useless to me. I do not enjoy playing her anymore. So I basically stopped playing apex. I jump on once every 3 weeks for a short session. 

Thanks Respawn.