Re: Damage numbers and how they work

by Jimmahwd

Original Post

Damage numbers and how they work

★★★ Novice

Hello!

I started playing Apex Legends 2 days ago, and i've noticed im having issue understanding the damage values and armor.

So i've noticed that i can spray down an opponent while the damage numbers show 45,45,93,45,20 (Saw those numbers in combat earlier today), But the opponent just doesnt go down. Half of the damage didnt show the shield hit icon so i figured he'd be dead soon. He didnt die, i had to reload, he rushed me and killed me within a second with an SMG. I had lvl 2 armor, so not the greatest but it should do its job, but i didnt even have time to react before i died. 

Also, me and my friend came 2nd last match, we were up against 3 people, and they were pretty far away, sniping us. We had the last circle so we could just hold our grounds and shoot back. Now, they rushed us pretty quick (I had lvl 3 armor and helmet), one of the enemies opened the door to our building, where i was standing and just killed me before i even knew what was going on, Like i saw the doors open and i was dead.

How come some people can just kill me so quickly, while i, even when hitting all the bullets, cant seem to do any harm to them? 
This isnt meant as a rant or anything, just curious if i've missed out on how the damage numbers work and all that.

Thanks! 

Message 1 of 9 (2,794 Views)

★ Guide

I have similar issues that are more common than they were since the game was released. The only time that I have one shotted a player was with a headshot with a Kraber or a headshot with a Peacekeeper, though I'm sure I would be able to do the same with a Mastiff. However, I see people shoot once or twice and down me instantly even with full HP and armor, including a high tier headpiece. People are hacking and the scores they show often are absurd numbers. It's getting annoying real fast.

Message 2 of 9 (2,775 Views)

★★★ Novice