Re: Can we please get back the old ring damage?

by RevenanT-G7

Original Post

Can we please get back the old ring damage?

★★★ Newbie

I thought that the ring damage at launch was perfect. It gave enough of an incentive for players to move to the circle, without being a mechanic that could ruin a game for you. Now it seems like every time I get caught outside the ring I lose 80-90% of my health (if I survive in the first place) and makes the game as a whole, just less enjoyable because I spend less time focused on where I want to go and what I want to do in my matches, and more time focused on just getting to the next ring so that I don't just die in the first thirty seconds of not running towards a little circle on my mini-map. I am just wondering if there were serious problems with the last ring damage model? Did anyone complain to have it changed? Or was this one of the "proactive" changes to try to keep players interested (I am genuinely curious because this is my first time on this forum and I didn't ever hear any complaints about the ring damage). I just think that it was a part of the game that didn't need fixing, but the devs tried to fix anyway, and made the experience less enjoyable as a result.

Message 1 of 14 (763 Views)

★★★ Expert

I think this was requested by many players, they tested a harsher ring damage in Apex Elite, then they introduced a toned down version of that with Season 2. I also preferred the more forgiving damage, but now I have mixed feelings. There are more chances of winning even if you lose one or both teammates, as your enemies are less likely to be fully geared or teamed up.

Message 2 of 14 (746 Views)

[ Edited ]
★ Pro

I'd say the current damage model is quite right. The initial early rings damage was too mellow. The 10% first ring damage was absolutely bonkers nonsense. The current damage is just about right.