Re: Age and PC specs

by FaZaaa_82

Original Post

Age and PC specs

★★★★★ Novice

Hi Guys,

I've been playing Apex Legends for a couple of months now, and first of all congrats for such a cool and addictive game!

I will be the first to admit that I'm a lousy player. I'm 50 years old and using a GTX 970 with a 60Hz (6ms response time) 1920x1200 monitor. All settings are set to minimum (and they stay there). The rest of my PC specs are OK (9900K, Z390 Aorus Master, etc.) which I built to enjoy Apex Legends..

At this age (I'm pretty active and disciplined) the mind gets slower, so reaction times get slower. I know there are plenty of older players out there.

I'm saving up for a decent video card like a 2080ti, and a 240Hz 1080p gaming monitor like the XL2546, and hoping that this helps me up my game. (Not all older people can easily afford these things.)

The personal question for me will be, will I be a better player with the new hardware when I get it - or will I fall short and still react too slowly..

I'm in awe of very cool (and very young) Twitch players like Dizzy, who seem to think incredibly quickly in game.

Have any of you (especially older players) seen any decent gains from upping your PC hardware specs?

Or maybe you are already a very good player but still playing on a slow monitor like mine?

Other thoughts: I easily give up and quit when I get killed - and I believe many people do now. It can be annoying for all of us when we are trying to save someone and they simply disconnect. I'm also guilty of clowning around sometimes and not caring enough about the team who simply land in an incredibly hot zone just to get instantly killed. I appreciate that we need to learn to swim in at the deep end, but sometimes I like to go it alone or fight (without feeling guilty of having my teammates backs) so that I can get a bit of practice in, be it learning to grapple, sniping or whatever.