Re: my sim won't go to work/school!

by PugLove888

Original Post

my sim won't go to work/school!

★★★★ Novice

Hi everyone! I started playing the sims again, this is all new to me, I used to play Sims 2 & 3. Now I have 4. I'm loving the game, I went and bought a bunch of expansions. Anyway, all was going well, then all of a sudden, my teen sim will not leave for school, or work. I click go to school, and nothing happens, I click for work, nothing happens. I've exited and re entered the game, cleared cache, even moved to another house, moved her in and back into her house, and "repaired game" on origin. Nothing is fixing this. Any ideas? I can't just let her not go, she is destined for college soon Confused

Thank you for any and all help!!

Message 1 of 4 (1,062 Views)

Champion

@StacyC83, do you play on a console or on a PC/Mac?  If you play on a PC or Mac, do you happen to use any Mods or Custom Content (CC)?Wondering  Mods/CC can cause a lot of problems in your game if it isn't maintained properly, especially when EA releases a patch like they did on Wednesday the 8th!Disappointed  If you use CC/Mods, then you will need to find which one is causing the problem and go back to where you got the CC item or Mod and see if the creators have an updated version to work with the updated version of the game.  You have to get rid of the old version and replace it with the new one if there is one. Standard smile

To find which Mod/CC item is the problem, please do all of the following:

1) Move the Mods Folder to your desktop

2) Delete the localthumbcache.package file in the game folder.

3) Fix you game in Origin by logging in and go to Library, then right-click on The Sims 4 and choose the "Repair Game" option from the list.  Wait until Origin finishes repairing all your packs and not just the base game.

4) Now, when you turn on your game again, it will create a new mods folder that will be empty.  Check to see if your game is now working without mods/CC.