Re: Racial slur in werewolves pack

by JSmithh013

Original Post

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Expert

I wasn't addressing any specific press releases, I was attempting to explain how tropes work. I'm not a game designer, but I am a published author (with a day job lol) and there's a similar skill set involved.

For example, vampires. Let's think about how they would implement a vampires pack/how I would write a vampire book. For people to recognize it as vampires, they need to drink blood (or plasma), sleep in coffins, not age, etc. These are tropes and are culturally derived, usually from literature or mass media. In the case of vampires, they gave us mutliple tropes to play with, including the Nosferatu style vampire (Vlad) and the charming vampire (for all your Edward Cullen/Louis de Pointe du Lac needs). Most vampire tropes in the US and UK come from Bram Stoker, who got a lot of them from the Victorian serial Varny the Vampire. Dracula wasn't the first vampire novel in English, just the one that's the most famous today.

For example, farming. Why set a farming pack in the UK? To manage expectations about whether the pack is about having as many cows or llamas as possible (US Midwest/West style), perhaps herded by cowboys on horseback, or whether it's a cozier "All Creatures Great and Small" experience.