Re: A C&C veteran's feedback

by Nuvraught

Original Post

A C&C veteran's feedback

★★ Guide

First, some quick background. I've been playing the C&C series since it came out in 1995 and I've played every single C&C game since then (including Sole Survivor and C&C4). I've also got somewhere over 2000 hours throughout the series. When I first heard of Rivals I was bummed out that we weren't getting a PC game (and I still kind of am...). However, despite what others have said, this is actually a pretty good game at its core. There are some balancing issues that have to be resolved, but it's got a ton of potential.

That being said, there are plenty of issues I've had. The biggest issue I've had so far is unlocking units. Either this needs to be removed, the matchmaking needs to have a hard cap at what levels can match, or some other solution I'm not thinking of. It is extremely frustrating to be a level 10 and get matched with somebody who has a Basilisk. It'd be like playing a normal game of Tiberian Sun at tech level 5 while your opponent gets tech level 10. Pretty much impossible to win.

What makes the unit unlocking worse is the inconsitency. I've unlocked just about every unit for GDI from the crate drops, but I only just got the Rockworm and Reapers in the past 24 hours. Still need to get the artillery... What this has done is force me to play GDI constantly since they're the only faction for me with enough options to build a balanced force. Honestly, I'd rather pay $5 for the game in the app store with all the units unlocked than play it for free.