Re: Game will not start

by mcsupersport

Original Post

Game will not start

★ Apprentice

I have been trying for a couple of years to log into the game now without success. I have posted on here in the past and been unable to find a solution. I thought I would try again as I miss playing the game and would love to get back on it. I believe everything is up to date. I have finished the story line in the past, playing on the same computer.

Any help would be appreciated, word of warning however I am not good with how computers work so I may need step by step instructions.

Thanks in advance. Very keen to get back to playing.

Message 1 of 22 (1,385 Views)

First steps are to explain exactly what is going on, what happens when you press play and what the exact problem it.  Just saying it doesn't work, isn't much help.  Second step is a DxDiag file so we can see a bit about your system hardware and fault errors(located at bottom of the DxDiag). 

Probably the two most common issues causing DAI to not start, are Avast/AVG antivirus programs and hardware below spec(sometimes accidentally being used..ie system updated and changed settings).

So please post back with the above and let's see if we can help you.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am NOT an EA employee, I am just a simple gamer like most everyone else here volunteering my help to those who may can use it .....That means I have to pay for my games just like you, lol.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Message 2 of 22 (1,371 Views)

★ Apprentice

When I start the game it crashes. It crashes at different points. Sometime it gets to a black screen with the inquisition sign in the bottom corner and crashes, sometimes it gets to character creation and crashes.

I have attached DxDiag file. I play other games at high spec, LOTRO being the most commonly used.