Re: DA:I--Help!

by FullMetal-1652

Original Post

Accepted Solution

DA:I--Help!

★ Novice

Hey everyone! 

So, I just bought DA:I and was super excited to play it. However, it keeps crashing on start up, and there is no error message. I tried researching what was going on online, but I cannot understand what people are saying. I've already disabled my antivirus software, disabled Origin in game stuff, repaired files, and rebooted my computer. Nothing seems to be working.

If you all could offer some advice, that would be great! I have a Dell G3 gaming computer with the latest update for NVIDIA and a core i5 Intel processor. I'm not too tech savvy, so if you could keep things in laymen terms, that would be awesome!

Thanks so much you guys!

Message 1 of 5 (440 Views)

Accepted Solution

[ Edited ]
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: DragonAgeInquisition.exe
P2: 1.0.0.0
P3: 5600f278
P4: aswhooka.dll

This is listed through your DxDiag file in the end section.  aswhooka.dll is an Avast file.  So basically Avast is still causing issues for your game.  I know there are two types of exceptions/exclusions available for Avast.  One is scanning and one is global.  The first tells Avast to don't scan for a virus there but it will do everything else, the second global one tells Avast to ignore the file for everything.  The way to get DAI to work is to set the global one, for DAI, the Origin app, and DAI saves files.  

common locations:

Saves--- C:\Users\Your user name\Documents\BioWare\Dragon Age Inquisition\Save

Origin--  C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin

Origin games can vary way to much to be able to tell you, but you said you already did this so you should know the location, I usually tell AVG to ignore all Origin games--and hope a hacker/virus doesn't install there.....