Re: DA:I Downloaded in Steam, not opening in Origin

by EA_Kent

Original Post

Accepted Solution

DA:I Downloaded in Steam, not opening in Origin

★★★ Novice

First off this is my first time ever posting to a help forum so bear with me for a minute. My problem is that I recently purchased Dragon Age: Inquisition GOTY edition from Steam Summer sale. I downloaded the game through Steam just fine, no problems there, and linked up my Origin account to it, again no problems there. Where the issues start is that my Origin keeps showing that the game needs to be downloaded and when I attempt to open the game from either Origin or Steam, I get the little startup window but it freezes, then shows the game launching in Steam for a split second, then closes almost immediately and Origin tells me "The game Dragon Age™: Inquisition - Game of the Year Edition does not appear to be installed. Please install it or try relaunching the game." 
I've tried uninstalling the game and reinstalling it, I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling Origin. I've tried a lot of the other tricks people were using but I can't even get the game open so those didn't really apply as much. I do have both Origin and Steam on 2TB external hard drive if that makes a difference, but I have other games that obviously work just fine from the hard drive. I really would like to play this game so if someone could help me that would be absolutely amazing! (I'm having the same issue with DA2 but if I can solve it for DA:I then I can solve it for DA2 as well!)

Message 1 of 20 (23,727 Views)

Accepted Solution

★★★ Novice

Ok so after hours and hours and hours pouring over what to do and doing dozens of different things, I found that opening Origin in Windows 7 compatibility mode and Running as an Admin completely solved my situation! The games now work perfectly fine and I couldn't be happier!!

View in thread

Message 7 of 20 (23,498 Views)

All Replies

Community Manager

Hi @mary_e_bruce123