Re: Command and Conquer Generals Zero Hour Technical Difficulties

by LordHoratio-N

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Command and Conquer Generals Zero Hour Technical Difficulties

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Novice

Hi, this is my first try to explain what's my problem.

I recently (20/09/2019) purchased the Command and Conquer Ultimate Collection to play all these classic games especially Command and Conquer Generals (+ Zero Hour) but whenever I got to launch the game I get and Error that pops up saying Technical Difficulties "You have encountered a serious error. Serious errors can be caused by many things including viruses, overheated hardware and hardware that does not meet the minimum specifications for the game. Please visit the forums at www.generals.ea.com for suggested courses of action or consult your manual for technical support contact information".

I have spent the past 5 days looking for an answer for why it doesn't launch. I've tried every single solution/fix I've found but still nothing. I've tried 1) deleting dbghelp.dll, 2) reinstalling DirectX, 3) changing my options.ini file, 4) downloading the DirectX SDK, 5) changing the compatibility mode, 6) running the .exe files as administrator, 7) redownloading the game and reinstalling it, 8) downloading and installing GenTool and 9) disabling Origin ingame but nothing worked ((10) i also tried the same methods for a torrent/cracked version!!!). Literally, i have tried everything @Nyerguds had already proposed all these years in different forum posts. The only thing that left to be tried is to play it through virtual machine software. I also have the ReleaseCrashInfo.txt and ReleaseCrashInfoPrev.txt files into my Generals an Zero Hour folders. I am posting here only the ReleaseCrashInfo.txt file from Zero Hour folder that follows (the other 3 are attached).

Release Crash at Fri Sep 27 00:30:09 2019
; Reason Uncaught Exception in GameEngine::update

Last error:
Exception is access violation
WinMain at 401720