Re: Sim cannot license music

by phyllisp160

Original Post

★★★ Novice
I had this problem too, but if you wait long enough, the option eventually comes back up. I was able to complete the license four song tasks, but I think it took me at least a few Sim weeks. Just keep checking the mailbox every day.
Message 11 of 24 (5,263 Views)

★★ Novice

My sim had to write in three sessions and it took a loooong time, yes. It did take a long time for the action to stop but not as long as I had anticipated from what I have read. I think it might help to have another action queued, particularly another sim trying to interact with them. 

However yes, to this day I still have the issue of the game acting as if I haven't actually written anything. I can't finish my music aspiration with this bug and it's killing me - I have a music degree in real life; I would like my sims to be able to have one too!

Message 12 of 24 (5,235 Views)

★★ Novice

Sorry to double-post, however I just saw this:

I think the reason the option would come back after a while is similar to the writing skill - you can publish several books but you will only receive royalties on them for a limited time. Perhaps once your "limited time" is over for your first license it opens up the slot for the next. 

But yes, I do believe you should be able to license more than one at a time... Not everyone is MC Hammer, people like to be Michael Jackson sometimes.

Message 13 of 24 (5,233 Views)

★★★ Newbie
On guitar. Sometimes takes days and days. Also sims get stuck writing the song, but cancels once you click 'go here'.
Message 14 of 24 (5,092 Views)

★ Apprentice

In order to licence a song you need level 9 of the instrument skill and a finished song, obviously. You can write songs before that but only at level 9 the option to licence them becomes available.