Re: [TO TEST] Gendered pronouns not matching up w/new CAS

by crinrict

Original Post

Accepted Solution

[BY DESIGN] Gendered pronouns not matching up w/new CAS

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

Hey all! Sorry if this has already been posted, but I've noticed that with the new gender options the pronouns used in game don't always match up. 

For instance I made a sim, Sarah, who had a masculine frame/feminine clothing, and when I was customizing her relationships, I had the option to make her either the brother or husband of my other sim, Lia. And once I started playing, whenever Sarah went to work she would come home with a notification that "he" had done well/earned a promotion/whatever, which was pretty disconcerting.

I feel like there should be a 'choose pronoun' option in the new CAS, too, where you can select she/her/hers, he/him/his, or they/them/theirs, to keep this from happening-- then the game would know whether to say sister, brother, or sibling, too.

Maybe there could even be a custom pronoun option, where you could type in the pronoun of your choice and it would work like the names do, filling in the pronoun provided wherever a pronoun is needed in-game! (for pronouns like xe/xem/xyr, ze/hir/hirs, ey/em/eirs etc)

It's such a great step forward to be able to make gender neutral and trans sims, but it's not so great when the game misgenders them...

Message 1 of 10 (5,599 Views)

Accepted Solution

[ Edited ]
Hero

That's what I'm saying and I'm not considering this a bug.

This is something for the feedback section: http://forums.thesims.com/en_US/categories/the-sims-4-feedback

Good Luck
Crin

Trennlinie

I don't work or have any association with EA. I give advice to the best of my knowledge and cannot be held responsible for any damage done to your computer/game.
Please only contact me via PM when asked to do so.

Important Threads

View in thread

Message 9 of 10 (6,110 Views)

All Replies

Re: gendered pronouns not matching up w/new CAS

[ Edited ]
Hero