Re: No Joystick Support in BF4: Solved

by CyberDyme

Original Post

No Joystick Support in BF4: Solved

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice

I have found a solution that will solve the problem - but it will take time and patience. I have a t.Flight HOTAS X from Thrustmaster that I use because I'm a licensed pilot.

This is what you need to do:

First: Do NOT mess around with your PROFSAVE_profile document. Leave it as is. If you have messed with it, delete the file you changed and restore the backup of that document. If you didn't make a back up, that is unfortunate. BF4 may recreate a PROFSAVE_profile document if you delete it and restart the game. Any future changes you make will be saved to that file - make sure you backup the stock file before editing.

Second: Download any needed software for your joystick and make sure the device is calibrated.

Third: Do NOT try to set up the joystick in the game. Download Realmware BF4 Settings Editor and use that.

https://battlefield.realmware.co.uk/bf4-settings-editor/downloads 

[User Quote]: "Realmware's BF4 Settings Editor. It is a quick and easy way of setting up your joystick config. Go through and choose to clear all joystick configs everywhere, and then start from scratch. It sounds like something's conflicting with another setting (easy to do when the button descriptions make no sense)."

** It is not necessarily "easier". For example, only the pitch up/down axis can be inverted [see graphic]. The roll and yaw axes cannot be inverted. Rest assured it will be frustrating when you try to use your new bindings in-game.

Invert Axis in BF4 Editor.png

Allow for extra time to set up your joystick because you have to re-enter the game to verify if the settings work properly. Trust me - you will get it wrong on the first few tries, but hang in there - it is so worth it. Be sure to set those axes to inverted, first.