BUG: BF3 lag spikes since January 2013...

by lCobraCommanderl

Original Post

Accepted Solution

BUG: BF3 lag spikes since January 2013...

[ Edited ]
★★★★★ Apprentice

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPlCNxCa8yg

BUG: I've been playing BF3 since October 2011 release.  But recently I've been experiencing BF3 lag stutter spikes since January 2013.  My ping and FPS are consistent and fine.  But BF3 has lag spikes that cause a stutter every second--which makes the game very bad to play.  You can clearly see this problem on flying jets--where they stutter in the air as they're flying.  I don't have this problem with any other online games on my system.  So this is the fault of BF3.  End Game DLC is coming out soon and I want to be able to play without this problem.  Can this be fixed?

BF3 Premium
US servers (West Coast)

EVGA GEFORCE GTX 660 TI (tested several final drivers)
Windows 7 x64 SP1

-----

NOTE: if you're also having this problem, you can report this problem to EA tech support via online chat...

https://help.ea.com/contact-us

or, the phone support team can be contacted on (https://help.ea.com/en/) from 10am-10pm est, monday through saturday.

Message 1 of 37 (13,439 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: BUG: BF3 lag spikes since January 2013...

★★★★★ Apprentice

I'm the original poster of this topic and I found the fix to my problem.

I found out that an overheating CPU can cause very bad stuttering. I fixed it by dusting my heatsinks with compressed air. You can also try increasing the CPU fan speed in your BIOS. If you have a similar problem, you should try it.

View in thread

Message 26 of 37 (3,045 Views)

All Replies

Re: BUG: BF3 bad stuttering gameplay since January 2013 updates...

Hero (Retired)

Hi there!

Repair Origin as well as PunkBuster. Do a quick reinstall on the latest muliplayer update as well. 

Make sure you have all the latest drivers installed as well as the latest version of Origin/PunkBuster.

- With kind regards, Timmie.