Re: DirectX Error (DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED)

by DraconariusXVII

Original Post

Accepted Solution

DirectX Error (DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED)

★★★ Newbie

I had been playing Battlefield 1 for a couple months now and never had any issues. This afternoon I launched the game and it opened a window and presumed to load the game, the window then automatically became full screen and the game froze. I used control+alt+delete to close the game and eventually received an error message which can be seen below. I went online and saw this was a common problem but was unable to find a clear solution to my problem. I tried reinstalling DirectX, updating my NVidia driver, and also installing the previous Nvidia driver from when the game was playable and I still am unable to play the game.

I have an ASUS laptop i7 processor, windows 10 64xbit, 8GB of ram

I have an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M video card with 4GB of VRAM (Current driver is 378.49, was playing game successfully on driver version 376.33)

I can play the game on high settings with a good framerate

I attached the screenshot of the error message but in case it doesn't work I will type it out below

DirectX Error

DirectX function "FindClosestMatchingMode" failed with DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED ("The video card has been physically removed from the system, or a drive upgrade for the video card has occured.") GPU: "", Driver."37849". This error is usually caused by the graphics driver crashing; try installing the latest drivers. Also, make sure you have a supported graphics card with at least 1024 MB of VRAM.

Message 1 of 17 (119,135 Views)

Accepted Solution
Highlighted

★★ Novice