Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013
Accepted Solution

ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

I get an ERROR CODE SMCY-19 when I attempt to launch the game.

 

I uninstalled Simcity, uninstalled Origin, deleted all content from my Hard Drive, reinstalled Origin, re-downloaded/installed Simcity into C:\Program Files(x86)\Origin Games\ folder like normal, and I still get the same issue.

 

I am running Windows 8. (I tried running it in compatibility mode for Windows 7 or XP and in Administrator - No change)

 

The game used to work before the last update. Why wouldn't the installer have the newest update built into it? Anyways, no one wants to help me with this... Thanks anyways for looking. (No amount of free games I don't want will help me play Simcity..)

Keeper
davisc47
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-25-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

I just bought the game yesterday. Unknown to me that such a disaster this game has become because the developers didn't take good enough notes from other mass multiplayer games. World of Warcraft never has so many pissed off users. haha

 

I'm running Windows 7, but it seemed origninally that the Norton Antivirus i'm running was blocking the simcity.exe file. So....

I've made exceptions for all the game in my firewall and for Origin in hopes that it would allow connection to their servers... still no luck. 

 

I have made exceptions for all applications possible within the folders Origin, and Origin Games/Simcity.....

 

Come on EA... You're better than this.

 

Also, if you come back and recommend I disable my firewall while i play this game. Please refund me my money. That is unacceptable to ask your customers to do that.

Lookout
evolutionxbox
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

My game used to work before the last origin update, even with my anti-virus on.

Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

I talked to the live chat.. After all those standard troubleshooting steps, I was given a direct phone number and case number for additional support. ):

Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

I was on hold for 40 minutes for a tech, got a tech, which then said I needed a specialist tech.. Went on hold for 55 minutes and then they picked up the line, were silent for 4 seconds, then hung up on me.. WOW

Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

So.. I turned off my firewalls completely for both public and private networks, port forwarded all port 80 and 443 ports (The ones Simcity uses) through my router and I get the same issue. An EA guy emails me and says I need to disable my firewall for this game... What the crap.. Haha.

 

Well, so what I did after that was install Simcity on my Laptop instead of my desktop, launched updater and it WORKED...Kinda.. It started updating and got to 20-25% and stopped... Stayed there for several hours saying "downlolading large file".. Well I gave it my best shot! I'm going to bypass my router today when I get home from work and see if I can get it working from there!

Keeper
nosillla
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

The problem is that the game worked before this update, even with firewalls and antivirus programs running. EA should not be requiring its customers to make all of these changes to their settings - they should just fix the game.

 

With that said - I disabled firewalls, turned off my antivirus - game still not working.. ERROR CODE SMCY-19

 

"Please see the customer support link for help" - when I click the link, the page says AN ERROR OCCURRED! -- oh, really?

Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

[ Edited ]

Okay, so check out what I did to try and fix it dude... I went to my crappy laptop... Installed it there (Windows 7 - Desktop Windows 8).. Downloaded the updates and the game launches.. Took all of those files from the laptop and copy/pasted them into the Origin Games folder on my desktop PC... This didn't fix my issue either.. I'm stumpped and amazed..

 

Just my story for you! Good luck!

Sentinel
blackflag486
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎03-11-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

Technical support is still working on my issue. I sent them my update logs to show the errors I am receiving. We'll keep you updated!

Lookout
evolutionxbox
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: ERROR CODE SMCY-19 - When attempting to update

I get this issue too. Disabling the firewall is no help at all.