Sims 3 keeps crashing

by redskins93fan

Original Post

Sims 3 keeps crashing

★★★ Newbie

I bought The Sims 3 and Pets expansion pack off of a Steam bundle a while ago. I stopped playing it for a few months. I just started playing it again today. Everything runs fine until I go to the desktop to do something and try to return to Sims 3. Every time it either instantly brings up a black screen with a mouse but then it will say it crashed, like in the picture. If it doesn't instantly crash, it will a few minutes after returning back to the game. I don't know why it does this but it is getting annoying and I lose all of my progress.

Message 1 of 6 (359 Views)

Re: Sims 3 keeps crashing

Hero (Retired)

@redskins93fan  Please post your computer's dxdiag - link - how to post dxdiag  Thank you

Message 2 of 6 (354 Views)

★★★ Newbie

Here is my DxDiag

Message 3 of 6 (345 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★ Guide

@redskins93fan Not to sound like a broken record (because I always give this advice in situation like yours) but see if your graphics drivers are up to date. 

Also, you mentioned something about minimizing the game to do other things. Sometimes running other programs while playing the game can cause issues. For example, if I run OBS Studio while running TS3, I get Error 16. So what other things are you doing, if you don't mind my asking?

Message 4 of 6 (338 Views)

Hero (Retired)