Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
annmp2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Sims 3 Disc install

I have tried and tried to install the Sims 3 on my pc, yes it is in a dvd drive, all it does is freeze up and wont even intall a bit, i then have to turn off my computer to even get the disc out =s  I have the sims 2 life stories(which i uninstalled to save space) and it will auto install just fine, do i have a bad disc or maybe some other problem =( please help

 

eacharlotte
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

Hi annmp2,

 

Does the autorun program launch at all or not? Does it freeze during the autorun or does nothing happen?

 

If nothing happens, one option would be to browse your dvd to launch the autorun manually (Right click, Expand)

 

Another option is for you to register your game onto Origin (you can get Origin here) and enter your game code there. (Origin, Use product code)

 

From there, you will be able to download and install your game on your PC.

______________________________________________________________________

Welcome! Take the time to discover the community by visiting our Answer HQ Announcements section
Keeper
annmp2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

The auto run does not launch at all, and when I tried to manually go to "run" and do it that way it just freezes and i have to restart the computer to get the disc out.  I will try the Origin way and let you know what happens.  It installed fine on my daughter's computer, so im not sure why it wont work on this one =s   i tried updating my drivers yesterday and it did nothing =(

  Thank you so much for the advice i wll try it and post back.

 

eacharlotte
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

Might be a problem with your disc reader if it won't work on your computer specifically... Try the Origin solution. It means you need to download the game from the internet which can take some time and I would understand the frustration, but I see no reason why it shouldn't work. (Unless maybe your computer doesn't meet the system requirements?)

______________________________________________________________________

Welcome! Take the time to discover the community by visiting our Answer HQ Announcements section
Keeper
annmp2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-06-2012

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

looked and it meets the requirements.  how do i use origin?  i got their launcher downloaded, do i have to buy the sims3 again?  or just enter my code?

eacharlotte
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

Alright, first you might want to register your game at thesims3.com, using your Origin ID.

 

Once this is done, relaunch Origin. Your game should appear in the program and you will be able to download and install it.

 

If the game doesn't show up on Origin after you did that, try to enter the code directly on Origin (in the main menu, click "Origin" at the very top and "Use a game code").

______________________________________________________________________

Welcome! Take the time to discover the community by visiting our Answer HQ Announcements section
Keeper
zeldaxlovex
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-16-2013

Re: Sims 3 Disc install

Thank you soo much! You pretty much saved me! :cathappy: