Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Accepted Solution

My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

[ Edited ]

I recently bought, downloaded, and installed the Sims 3 supernatural and Showtime. After I did so I was unable to play. When I tried to play my old games that I had, it would work really well and have very fluid movements and beautiful picture  like night and day from my old computer to my new one, but then the game would freeze and then crash. And also when I try to create new Sims, the game works for a while and I'm able to edit the clothes, sometimes all the way to swimwear, other times I can barely even get through to the formal, then the game freezes and crashes. I've installed and redownloaded mutiple times to try and solve the problem. I have even taken out all of my custom content, and uninstalled supernatural, but it still runs like crap. I have invested a lot of time and money into these games, not to mention computer space, and I would be very grateful if it would just work properly. Please help. 

 

I bought my computer September 22, 2012.

It is a Compaq Presario CQ57-339WM

I have Windows 7 

All the expansion packs

None of the Stuff packs

A ton of custom content, but none that is currently in the game. 

DxDiag Stuff:

ime of this report: 10/9/2012, 17:29:48
Machine name: ALEXIA-HP
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: Presario CQ57 Notebook PC
BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 03.60.50F.33
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU B800 @ 1.50GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.5GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 1900MB RAM
Page File: 2772MB used, 3321MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

 

Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_3672103C&REV_09
Display Memory: 821 MB
Dedicated Memory: 128 MB
Shared Memory: 693 MB
Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: SEC315A
Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (59.987Hz)
Output Type: Internal
Driver Name: igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumd32,igd10umd32,igd10umd32
Driver File Version: 8.15.0010.2696 (English)
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2696
DDI Version: 10.1
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/19/2012 23:31:56, 8087040 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-4246-11CF-0479-7816A9C2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x8086
Device ID: 0x0106
SubSys ID: 0x3672103C
Revision ID: 0x0009
Driver Strong Name: oem18.inf:IntelGfx.NTamd64.6.0:iSNBM0:8.15.10.2696:smileytongue:ci\ven_8086&dev_0106
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeWMV9_C ModeVC1_C

 

wecantpickaname
Posts: 167
XP: 30
Solutions: 8
Registered: ‎08-05-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

[ Edited ]

You say that you have a ton of custom content but it is currently not installed in your game? Your issue seems like the freezing is being caused by faulty leftover create-a-sim parts. If you've already done a thourough cleansing of removing all custom content including hair, skins, eyes, accessories, make-up and clothing then you will need to remove the remnants of these files.

 

Make sure that your game and launcher are not running. Game is up to date, current patch is 1.39

 

Next

Delete the Cache and Clean Up Your Game This will eliminate remnants of uninstalled items that can cause problems from corrupt or outdated data. 

It's okay to delete all of the following files from your game:

 

Go to your game folder and delete

CasPartCache.package

compositorCache.package

scriptCache.package

SimCompositorCache.package

 

Go to your Thumbnails folder

delete everything inside that folder

 

Go to your Content Patch Folder,  then click on Downloads

delete any file that has " .part"  in it. Any file with that extension is an old partial update. 

 

Windows users only may also delete items in the World Cache folder. If you don't see this folder, you just don't have any other worlds installed. 

 

Still having problems?

1. Be sure that your Launcher and game are not running.

2. Back up your files by copying your game folder and pasting it somewhere else, like your desktop. 

3. Go to the DCCache folder. Remove these files before you try your game again: dcc.ent and missingdeps.idx

4. Rename DCCache folder so the game will be unable to recognize the folder and move it to your desktop.

5. Create a New Folder and call it DCCache

6. Copy and paste the *.dbc files from the old DCCache folder that you moved to your desktop. 

7. Load Launcher to confirm the files can be read, and that content is listed in the Installed Content tab

8. If yes, load the Sims 3 and start a NEW game (because your other content is not restored, yet)

9.Save and quit your new game.

10. Copy over the .ebc file from your old(moved to the desktop)DCCache (this is your EA Store items) to the DCCache folder in your game files, Then delete from your desktop, the old DCCache folder. 

11. Restart your computer.

12.Load the launcher and try your game again.

crinrict
Posts: 47,205
Topics: 176
XP: 4,411
Solutions: 4,086
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

For all EPs and SPs, your computer specs are very low.

 

While you do have a dual, you only have 1.5 ghz also the RAM is very low with only 2 Ghz (Windows alone uses almost as much. There's no info about your graphic card but I think you should look into something a lot better.



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

Thanks for your answer but my computer is not even a month old, I am not buying another new one anytime soon especially not just to play sims. Also on my old computer and my sister's older computer (before it broke) we had the game and it worked great, A few minor things here and there but never anything like this and it was all the same brand of computer. The computer I have now is the upgraded version of the of both our older computers. So I know the problem isn't the brand, and specs, it is definitely the game. 

Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

[ Edited ]

Thanks!! I'll try this and let you know!!

 

 

 

 

This didn't  fix the problem. 

Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

[ Edited ]

Okay so it still is doing the same thing. I load the game, click on create a household, and then I start editing a sim then it freezes then crashes. But something I did notice was that some of my custom content has registered as EA sim store content and its still in the game. So I looked in my downloads folder but of course its empty, so some how my custom content has become part of the game. So how do I take it out? Do I need to uninstall then reinstall to get the game back to just a completely unedited version? Do you think this is why my game is running so bad because my custom content has embedded itself somehow?

 

What I did from here was start the launcher and clicked run without custom content. The game loaded way faster and I can edit sims a little more now, but I still cannot make families. I was also able to play a premade household, but my game is still freezing and then crashing in Create a Sim. I guess I'll just wait until there is a new patch and hope it fixes the problem because I honestly do not know what to do. Plus I haven't gotten a repsonse in days, so either that or stop buying and playing the games all together. 

crinrict
Posts: 47,205
Topics: 176
XP: 4,411
Solutions: 4,086
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

Custom Content is installed in the folder DCCache. *.ebc files are store content, *.dbc third party content.

 

In the launcher you need to uninstall from the installed tab simply deleting the files from downloads does not rid them from the game.



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

Re: My Sims 3 Game Keeps Freezing in Create a Sim

Okay thanks. 

Sentinel
Alexia2413
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-09-2012

My Game is still crashing in Create a Sim, and after about thirty minutes of game play.

[ Edited ]

I had posted a question before but I never got any solutions. I upgraded my ram ( I added 8gb) but the game is still doing the same thing.  While the game is running it does run more smoothly, but like I said it still crashes in create a Sim, and after limited game play. I have no custom content or music installed either. 

I have all of the expanison packs except for Seasons.

No stuff packs.

No Installed custom content

Updated game. 

 

This is a link to the first question I asked.

http://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-3/My-Sims-3-Game-Keeps-Freezing-in-Create-a-Sim/m-p/99390#U99390

 

I would really like to play. Its updated, patched and all that stuff, so does anyone know what to do?

 

Dixdiag Updated:

 

system Information
------------------
Time of this report: 11/2/2012, 13:02:59
Machine name: ALEXIA-HP
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: Presario CQ57 Notebook PC
BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 03.60.50F.33
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU B800 @ 1.50GHz (2 CPUs), ~1.5GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8044MB RAM
Page File: 2025MB used, 14060MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0106&SUBSYS_3672103C&REV_09
Display Memory: 1760 MB
Dedicated Memory: 128 MB
Shared Memory: 1632 MB
Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: unknown
Monitor Id: SEC315A
Native Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (59.987Hz)
Output Type: Internal
Driver Name: igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumd32,igd10umd32,igd10umd32
Driver File Version: 8.15.0010.2696 (English)
Driver Version: 8.15.10.2696
DDI Version: 10.1
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 3/19/2012 23:31:56, 8087040 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
WHQL Date Stamp:
Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-4246-11CF-0479-7816A9C2C535}
Vendor ID: 0x8086
Device ID: 0x0106
SubSys ID: 0x3672103C
Revision ID: 0x0009
Driver Strong Name: oem18.inf:IntelGfx.NTamd64.6.0:iSNBM0:8.15.10.2696:smileytongue:ci\ven_8086&dev_0106
Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeWMV9_C ModeVC1_C

D3D9 Overlay: Supported
DXVA-HD: Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0270&SUBSYS_103C3672&REV_1001
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6287 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 1/11/2011 19:56:00, 2709224 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6287 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 1/11/2011 19:56:00, 2709224 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x1
Format Flags: 0xFFFFF

Description: Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6287 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 1/11/2011 19:56:00, 2709224 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x1
Format Flags: 0xFFFFF

-------------------

| |

Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 174.4 GB
Total Space: 286.2 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: ST9320325AS

Drive: D:
Free Space: 1.6 GB
Total Space: 14.8 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: ST9320325AS

Drive: E:
Free Space: 1.1 GB
Total Space: 4.1 GB
File System: FAT32
Model: ST9320325AS

Drive: Q:
Model: n/a

Drive: F:
Model: hp DVD-RAM UJ8B1
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 6.01.7601.17514 (English), , 0 bytes

--------------

crinrict
Posts: 47,205
Topics: 176
XP: 4,411
Solutions: 4,086
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Game is still crashing in Create a Sim, and after about thirty minutes of game play.

Do you have a switchable graphic card in there cause that graphic chip barley meets the specs. If you run more then 1 EP, it's probably the issue for your problem.



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.