Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
anjasteenkamp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013

My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

[ Edited ]

I recently bought a new laptop, installed all my Sims 3 expansions but it froze after 10min of gaming and wouldn't save. I had a look at the CD and it says 0 free bytes of 5.55 bytes. I read up on it and it suggests that's why it wont save. How can I free up space on my CD or play normally as I could on my previous laptop? I have now uninstalled all the games.

crinrict
Posts: 42,150
Topics: 140
XP: 3,661
Solutions: 3,775
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

You don't need space on the CD. The game needs to be installed on your hard drive and then you should save the games to your hard disc. You can't write on the CD.

 

------------------

 

Could you post your Computer's DxDiag?

To gather a DxDiag on your computer, please follow the steps here: http://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-3/HOW-TO-DxDiag-for-Sims-3-PC-Only/td-p/1049584/



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Keeper
anjasteenkamp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 4/29/2013, 16:45:33        Machine name: DELLVOSTRO-LT    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.130318-1533)            Language: English (Regional Setting: English) System Manufacturer: Dell Inc.        System Model: Vostro 3560                BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 03.72.24A13           Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.2GHz              Memory: 8192MB RAM Available OS Memory: 8068MB RAM           Page File: 3481MB used, 12651MB available         Windows Dir: C:\Windows     DirectX Version: DirectX 11 DX Setup Parameters: Not found    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI  System DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)     DWM DPI Scaling: UnKnown      DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

------------ DxDiag Notes ------------       Display Tab 1: No problems found.         Sound Tab 1: No problems found.           Input Tab: No problems found.

-------------------- DirectX Debug Levels -------------------- Direct3D:    0/4 (retail) DirectDraw:  0/4 (retail) DirectInput: 0/5 (retail) DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail) DirectPlay:  0/9 (retail) DirectSound: 0/5 (retail) DirectShow:  0/6 (retail)

--------------- Display Devices ---------------           Card name: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000        Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.           Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family            DAC type: Internal          Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0166&SUBSYS_056E1028&REV_09      Display Memory: 4095 MB    Dedicated Memory: 1064 MB       Shared Memory: 3031 MB        Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)        Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor       Monitor Model: unknown          Monitor Id: SEC5448         Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (59.999Hz)         Output Type: Internal         Driver Name: igdumd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igd10umd64.dll,igdumd32,igd10umd32,igd10umd32 Driver File Version: 8.15.0010.2696 (English)      Driver Version: 8.951.9.1000         DDI Version: 11        Driver Model: WDDM 1.1   Driver Attributes: Final Retail    Driver Date/Size: 3/19/2012 13:01:54, 8087040 bytes         WHQL Logo'd: Yes     WHQL Date Stamp:   Device Identifier: {D7B78E66-4226-11CF-C777-6425B7C2C535}           Vendor ID: 0x8086           Device ID: 0x0166           SubSys ID: 0x056E1028         Revision ID: 0x0009  Driver Strong Name: oem36.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:iIVBM1ML_PROXY:8.951.9.1000:smileytongue:ci\ven_8086&dev_0166&subsys_056e1028      Rank Of Driver: 00E60001         Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeWMV9_C ModeVC1_C

crinrict
Posts: 42,150
Topics: 140
XP: 3,661
Solutions: 3,775
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

Check if there are new drivers for your graphic card.

 

Could you check how much disc space you have left on your c drive ?

 

What error are you getting when trying to save ?



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Keeper
anjasteenkamp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

There are none, I've checked.

The disk space is 127 GB of 214 GB space available

Sometimes the game saves and sometimes it doesn't, but it gets a black screen after 5min sometimes or when I want to create a sim?!

 

crinrict
Posts: 42,150
Topics: 140
XP: 3,661
Solutions: 3,775
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

So it basically crashes when you try to save ?

 

DId you try turning down your graphic options and turn off mirror reflections in your game graphic options ?

 

Do you have seasons and did you do some building ?



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Keeper
anjasteenkamp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-29-2013

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!

No, sometimes it crashes during the game too?!

I have many expansions, took hours to upload and now I cant even play the game properly :-(

crinrict
Posts: 42,150
Topics: 140
XP: 3,661
Solutions: 3,775
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: My Sims 3 CD says 0 bytes free of 5.55 bytes, freezes and wont save?!


crinrict wrote:

 

DId you try turning down your graphic options and turn off mirror reflections in your game graphic options ?

 


 



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.