Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
hej002
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2013

Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

Hi. I purchased the Dragon Valley pack from the sims online store a couple of days ago. I tried downloading the world but its a 256 mb "object" and after downloading and installing nothing shows up in the game. When I try installing from the download dash inside the game the world by itself downloads as an "object". I have tried several methods to solve this problem and none have worked. i have tried this suggested one: 

 

  • Close your game and launcher
  • Go to documents\electronicarts\thesims3 and move the folder DCCache to your desktop (this is ALL your custom content, so if you have 3rd party content as well, you might wanna just move the *.ebc files as well as the missingdeps.idx)
  • If you have any worlds installed go to the installedWorlds folder and delete all Store worlds from there.
  • Go to the DCBackup folder and delete everything in there. You don't really need the stuff in here except for the ccmerged file but since you're reinstalling everything, it will be recreated.
  • Open the launcher and start reinstalling all store stuff in groups. Don't install all in one go. Start with the worlds, then lots, then sets and single items last.

I have also tried starting a completely new sims 3 file and going about things that way. I do not have any other custom content other than this new world pack so I am pretty confused and frustrated. Also to note I am on a mac.

Keeper
kittymom1029
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-13-2013

Re: Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

I have the same problem. It's ridiculous. I had stopped playing Sims for more than a  year due to constant bugs and problems and zero response from the company. I finally started again a couple weeks ago. It seemed OK so I bought the Dragon Valley pack and now this. Totally disgusted with EA at this point. I am done with them.

Keeper
kittymom1029
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-13-2013

Re: Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

But I'm on a PC so your Mac isn't the problem. EA is the problem.

crinrict
Posts: 42,496
Topics: 140
XP: 3,721
Solutions: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

The reason that it's an object is because there other items in it when you download it. It's a set that you download and not the world. The world itself is within the set.

 

After installation you should both have an object end the world showing as installed on the installation tab.

 

Do you have other Store content and does that show up ok in your game ? Is your game updated to 1.55 and do you see the items that come with the set as installed in your launcher or are they not there either ?



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
Keeper
cpl16
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-13-2013

Re: Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

My game won't even update to 1.55. It finishes the download and says to reinstall. I do that and it still won't work. And then the Dragon Valley won't work. I have no other downloaded content. Everything, including the world, show up as seperate objects and wont work in the game. I'm well on my way to demanding my money back.

crinrict
Posts: 42,496
Topics: 140
XP: 3,721
Solutions: 3,807
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Dragon Valley Won't Install with any method....

Try downloading the patch manually here:

http://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-3/FAQ-Patch-1-39/td-p/67858/



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.