Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
aprilleshowers
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-19-2012

Can't connect with Origin!

Before anyone says your origin probably isn't up to date because it is.So heres the story I download Sims 3 from disc it says do you want the download manger it asks if you want it updated it transforms to Origin I get on Origin because I bought Sims 3 Late Night before so I download it , it doesn't install because my Sims 3 isn't up to date I go to Sims 3 launcher go to Game Updates it says unable to connect with EA download manger and also says your game is up to date with the Update Now button in gray my version is 1.0.631! PLEASE HELP

crinrict
Posts: 42,572
Topics: 142
XP: 3,735
Solutions: 3,809
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

To patch use the manual patch here: http://answers.ea.com/t5/The-Sims-3/FAQ-Current-Patch-1-39-Manual-links-and-more/td-p/67858/jump-to/... (super patch)

 

- Are there any traces of the EADM left on the computer and registry or is it strictly all Origin ?

- Did you try if temporarily turning off firewall and anti virus makes a difference ? 



Good Luck and Happy Simming
Crin



Please accept a solution if your issue is solved. XP is also appreciated
I don't work or have any association with EA
Questions belong in the forums. I don't answer questions via PM.
Help us helpers to help you

Bitte akzeptiere eine Lösung, wenn dein Problem gelöst ist und verteile XP an Beiträge, die du hilfreich findest.
Ich arbeite nicht für EA und habe sonst auch keinerlei Verbindung zu EA.
EA Sims Team
SimGuruRusskii
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎09-04-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

i find also that this error goes away after i close my origin client and then re open it.

Let us know if that worked.

wecantpickaname
Posts: 167
XP: 30
Solutions: 8
Registered: ‎08-05-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

[ Edited ]

 Okay! You're probably getting something like this:

Screenshot (this screenshot was taken before patch 1.39. Pay no attention to the game version)

 

I have a resolution for this problem. It happens after changing the email address on your account.

What happens is that you already have a file called ChallengeData.package

When you change the email address that is connected to your account, a second ChallengeData.package file gets generated causing confusion because both files seem to get paged at the same time.

 

So, you must remove the older ChallengeData.package.

 

1. Go to your game files

 

2. Click on Downloads

 

3. You will see two folders with a long number as folder names.

 

- One folder will have a ChallengeData.package in it by itself.

 

-The other folder will have 2 files: ChallengeData.package and PassportData.package

 

-The folder with 2 files in it contains your older ChallengeData.package file. Cut that file and paste it to a new folder on your desktop and name it something like backup for launcher.

 

4.Select ALL files in your downloads folder that begin with dynamicchallenge and the .bin file with your current email address ex: youremail@service.com.bin Cut and paste these to the new folder on your desktop. If you see a file with your old email address in your downloads folder. Delete that file.

 

Restart your launcher.

 

Tada!

 

This seems to be the ONLY way to eliminate this problem so far.

 

shallowmeystic
Posts: 49
Topics: 10
XP: 0
Solutions: 1
Registered: ‎09-21-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

Hmm this could also help with my downloding problems two :smileyhappy:

Keeper
sarahevangelina
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-06-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

Can you further dumify your "to do" list? I don't know what you mean by game files. If you mean the EA folder, and then downloads, then I can't find what you're talking about. 

 

Thanks!

rumbutter
Posts: 12,224
Topics: 12
XP: 835
Solutions: 880
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

go to your documents EA folder open that then there is a folder Sims3 open that there you will find the downloads folder

_____________________________________________________________
solutions are 50/50 they work for some and not others and vice versa
I don't work or have any association with EA
please remember your on a public forum never give out your codes emails or phone numbers
game issue questions belong in the forum please do not pm me with game issue questions
Keeper
hamoudie11
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2013

maybe u should try to redownload it

maybe u should try to redownload it

Keeper
kingalvarez3
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2013

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

look what i did to try to fix this problem is to go to www.sims3.com and try to find it there on the search.I tried that and it .................

Keeper
EstherA
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2013

Re: Can't connect with Origin!

It's not working for me