Re: My son can't join multiplayer games

by einnebcj

Original Post

Accepted Solution

My son can't join multiplayer games

★★ Novice

I setup an account on our xbox one for my son.  He loves Plants vs Zombies and he can launch into the game without issues and play Backyard Battleground, I can play split screen with him as well in this mode.  When he tries to join a multiplayer game it fails to find a match regardless of the game mode.  I've confirmed my xbox privacy settings for him to be able to join multiplayer games.  What can I do to allow him to play this online?

Message 1 of 6 (3,593 Views)

Accepted Solution

★★ Novice

Yes I have a gold subscription.  I resolved the issue by playing with the privacy settings for my son's account.  He was using the "child default" except I had allowed joining multiplayer games but this wasn't working.  I changed the privacy setting to "adult" and tested which work OK and he was was able to join a multiplayer game.  I then tuned all the settings back to make them more restrictive, leaving the setting "allow joining multiplayer games" to enabled.  For some reason it worked.  I suspect there is some issue with PVZGW2 and the "child" privacy preset, that even when customized it has a problem.

View in thread

Message 3 of 6 (4,175 Views)

All Replies

Community Manager (retired)

Hey @DeadlyCraneFly

Do you have XBOX Live Gold on your XBOX account? This would be needed for multiplayer (for the other modes you mention you only need an internet connection).

- Andy -

Message 2 of 6 (3,573 Views)

★★ Novice