Re: Latency issues and disconnects after certain hours

by Shaddar86

Original Post

Latency issues and disconnects after certain hours

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

I recently started playing again and I've been enjoying a lot but there is one issues. I can play without any issues during the day but when the clock hits 7:30-7:40 pm ( Milan time ) the latency starts to spike and the game becomes unplayable, invisible walls, freezes, latency constantly rising etc. I assume the problem is caused by the traffic in the game or some sort of maintenance done by the provider. There are no issues on any other games and I have a 1000 mb/s internet. Help would be highly appreciated, thanks Standard smile

Edit: I've asked for help on the swtor forums about this, and told that I should do a run with pingplotter with and post the answers here. So here we are, any help is appriciated :D

Ping.png (121 KB)

Message 1 of 11 (930 Views)

[ Edited ]

@Seanredeyes

Best course at present is to do two graphs, one when it is good and one when the issue is occuring, then can compare and see if anything can be identified in the graph as to what is occurring.

things to look for is routing changes that occur at that time and if there is any increase in congestion on the route itself.

What I can see is a lot of jitter in your ping plot but need the separate graphs to compare

I did a few minute test from Australia to the same IP , on a different route the jitter is less pronounced and quality of net conditions is higher, ignore the higher ping I am in Australia

159.153.72.252.png

Another thing to try if open to trialing is www.wtfast.com now the intent is to not pay for this but to utilise the free trial as a means to see if it does stop the lag/disconnects from occurring.

If it does it strongly points to an issue on one of the intermediate routers or on the return path, and means that is where the focus should be directed towards.