Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Reply
Keeper
justgrazi
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

I have a Windows 7 64bit PC, NETBIOS over TCP/IP is disabled by default.

 

To enable NetBIOS over TCP/IP on Windows 7:

  1. Click Start, and then click Network. (click Start, type ncpa.cpl into the search box for Windows 7 or Vista, hit ENTER).
  2. Click on the Network and Sharing Center
  3. Click Manage Network Connections.
  4. Right click on the Local Area Connection select Properties.
  5. Select Internet Protocol version 4 (TCP/IPv4)
  6. Click the Advanced button under the General tab.
  7. Click the WINS tab.
  8. Click Enable NetBIOS Over TCP/IP.
  9. Click OK and Exit the settings.

Granted... I have been able to download the game, and install it, but I was getting the ACCESS VIOLATION in the Exception Reports.

It was crashing on the Simcity.exe file. This fixed that problem for me. Hope this helps others.

Keeper
gijutsu
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

This really worked for me.  I kept getting the Exception Error report.  Something as simple as this fixed that.  Amazing what we can do, and the developers can't figure out.  This needs to be bumped a lot.

Keeper
justgrazi
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

[ Edited ]

I believe the EA staff mentioned this to someone on another forum issue. But the problem is that, no specifics were given as to what computer type, what  problem it solved, etc. I had gone through all the other tweaks people had mentioned. But none of them worked for me.

 

Should probably get an EA staff member to make this a sticky.

Keeper
gijutsu
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

yeah.  Game loads, but now I am stuck with the crashing issue.  Well...at least it runs.

Keeper
nomadwanderer
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-06-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

[ Edited ]

Enabling netbios over tcp-ip is a big security risk..

 

https://www.google.com/search?q=netbios+over+TCPIP+is+a+security+risk

 

Even the wiki pedia article says it's not a good idea.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NetBIOS_over_TCP/IP#Security_vulnerabilities

 

I'm not doing it... A hacked network/computer/stolen identity/ is not worth playing Simcity.

 

This requirement was not listed... I'm getting a refund.

Lookout
turtlemcsquirtle
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎03-06-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

This really doesn't seem viable given the security problems it opens you up to. I want a refund.

Keeper
justgrazi
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Enabling Netbios over TCP/IP on Windows 7 PC for Launcher to display

Turning on your computer is a risk. If you have a router, and firewall. The NETBIOS port is normally blocked.

 

I was able to run through the tutorial, and then quit the game to do some work.

 

I just got back and the game updated itself... I checked my NETBIOS and it is now DISABLED in my local area connection and on my adapter.

 

So, maybe they fixed it.

 

So, basically, NETBIOS is disabled and the game is now running for me.