Launch Error: "Direct3D is not available because computer is locked."

by Dae314

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Launch Error: "Direct3D is not available because computer is locked."

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

Hi All, I've been playing happily through ME2 for a few months now (33 hours logged), but today when I went to start the game I found that it refused to boot with the error in the title and above.  Nothing happens after I try to start the game except the error window pops up.  I've tried the following:

• Repair ME2 through Origin
  • Update my GPU drivers
  • Uninstall then reinstall ME2 through Origin
  • Uninstall then reinstall ME2 without addons/DLC through Origin
  • Multiple reboots between steps
  • Checked dxdiag to make sure Direct3D is enabled (it is)
  • Ran sfc /scannow (no problems detected)

My system is configured as follows:

• Windows 10 x64 Version 1703 OS Build 15063.296 (Creator's update)
  • AMD 7970 GPU (Driver version window below)
  • i7-4770K stock
  • 8GB memory

I installed the Creator's update on 5/12, and I think that this is the first time I've tried to start ME2 under that update.  I'm not sure if the update may have affected the game.

Message 1 of 2 (2,234 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Launch Error: "Direct3D is not available because computer is locked.&qu

★★★ Newbie

I've got some good news and some strange news.

Good news: I managed to start up ME2 this morning after my computer was shutdown over night.

Strange news: I'm not sure what I did.  Since I posted, I tried the following:

• Uninstalled my AMD drivers
  • Booted into safe mode and checked the C:\Program Files\AMD folder and C:\AMD folder
  • The C:\Program Files\AMD folder was empty, but the C:\AMD folder was not so I moved it to C:\AMD_old and made a new C:\AMD folder
  • I then rebooted into regular mode and reinstalled the AMD drivers to the most recent level (same level as my screenshot)