Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
kirkonacid
Posts: 19
Topics: 2
XP: 1
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Accepted Solution

Mass Effect on Windows 8

I have Mass Effect on Steam and since doing a fresh install of Windows 8, I'm unable to play it. I have tried comepletely disabling UAC and restarting my computer. I select "play," my computers is busy for a moment, and then absolutely nothing happens.

Keeper
Madlabba
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-09-2012

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

I had my copy ME 1 from Origin, buy it some days ago. And don't have any problems, game run smooth and fine. Try to re-register your code in Origin client.

kirkonacid
Posts: 19
Topics: 2
XP: 1
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎11-08-2012

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

Origin helped, but I also had to run it in compatibility mode (SP3).

Keeper
gcxd68
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-15-2012

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

Thanks for your help, I did the following. I ran Steam\SteamApps\common\Mass Effect\Binaries\MassEffect.exe once in the Windows XP SP3 compatibility mode, then disabled it. It now runs perfect.

Keeper
theshepard10
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2012

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

can you help me do that?

Keeper
airgear9
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-05-2013

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

I'm still havin this problem

Keeper
dwu03
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-07-2013

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

how to do run it on compatibility mode??

Posts: 2,688
Topics: 32
XP: 515
Solutions: 393
Registered: ‎07-19-2012

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

@dwu03; 

 

You asked

"how to do run it on compatibility mode??"

 

Answer

 

1.  Create a desktop shortcut to the game launcher ("\<user's game program path>\MassEffectLauncher.exe")

 

2.  Right-click on it and choose "Properties" at the bottom.

 

3.  Click the "Compatibility" tab at the top.  (You can actually do steps 2-3 during step 1.)

 

4.  Check the "Compatibility Mode"' box and select "WinXP (SP3) from the drop-down.  (NOTE:  For this kind of thing, I click the "Change for all users" first so that the change will work for everybody on my machine, even though no one else uses it regularly.)

 

5.  Start the game from the shortcut instead of from the EA/Origin client.

 

(While one can apply the "Compatibility Mode" setting directly to the program file, I found that ME1 still wouldn't launch from my EA/Origin client.)

 

Found that I had to set the EA/Origin client to "Run a Administrator" to be able to launch the game when clicking "Play" from within "My Games".

 

That's it! :smileywink:

 

Oh, and of course, one needs to apply the 1.02 patch in order to run the game on Win7 or Win8!

See this topic: [Information] Mass Effect 1 and Windows 7 - You need patch 1.02 to play, which is pinned to the top of this forum

--Thandal
===================================================================
If you want to answer someone's question, click on the "Reply" button.
If you appreciated someone's post, reward them by clicking on the "XP" button.
If someone's post solved your problem, tell others! Click the "Accept as Solution" button.

And remember: "It's just a game." So play nice.
===================================================================
Keeper
kingofcerealg
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-20-2013

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8

At least on my computer, there is no compatibility tab visible for masseffect.exe. Has anyone found a way to get around this?

 

Lookout
morazac
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-07-2013

Re: Mass Effect on Windows 8


kingofcerealg wrote:

At least on my computer, there is no compatibility tab visible for masseffect.exe. Has anyone found a way to get around this?

 


Yeah the masseffect.exe seems to have no tab for it, change it for the masseffectlauncher.exe, mine starts now after deactivating onboard Graphics.