Re: Battlefield 1 DVD install Origin

by EA_David

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Battlefield 1 DVD install Origin

★★ Novice

Hi,  I pre-ordered a DVD version of BF1
Im new to pc gaming and im not sure if the DVD will work with origin.. How would i install it from the CD but have it on the origin platform? And assuming it is on the origin platform i just need the CD for install is that correct?
Thank you in advance

Message 1 of 16 (12,649 Views)

Accepted Solution

Community Manager

@hashmash123 Hi, the main component of your purchase is the Product Code(s), which should printed on a leaflet in the box. 

When you get the game you can pop in the disc and it'll start the install process. You'll be prompted to log in with your Origin account and once you use the attached product code(s) the game will be permanently associated with that account. 

Alternatively if you have fast internet, you can just redeem the code through Origin, then start the download. Nowadays the discs are just a delivery method for game data files and ownership is tied to the account. 

From then on you can redownload as much as you want, but you can also use the disc. Origin should be able to detect a disc in your drive, and if you ever reinstall it should try to pull the data from the disc first, rather than downloading everything. However during the install process you'll need to be online for patching and registration. 

I hope this helps to clear things up and if you have any more questions please let us know. 

David.png
Stay and Play.png

View in thread

Message 2 of 16 (15,258 Views)

All Replies

Community Manager

@hashmash123 Hi, the main component of your purchase is the Product Code(s), which should printed on a leaflet in the box. 

When you get the game you can pop in the disc and it'll start the install process. You'll be prompted to log in with your Origin account and once you use the attached product code(s) the game will be permanently associated with that account.