Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
rodajo235
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-26-2012

Error: Unable to set the video mode

Just downloaded this product. I thought it was set up to be compatible with Windows 7 or I would have never purchased it in the first place. I downloaded the Red Alert 2 product and tried to play and got Error: Unable to set the video mode. I have gone into the compatibility settings and changed them to a variety of different operating systems including 95, 98, and XP. Should not sell a product that is indicated as Windows 7 compatible when its not. Need some help. Thanks.

Marshall
mrtnptrs
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎10-15-2012

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

Keeper
CyberKhalid
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2014

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

My PC is powweful and I bought the Command and Conquer collection...all the games dosn't work! have different error messages such as unable to set the video mode! for some reason I always have problems with EA games..this company has a lot of issues even the new games such as BF4. EA seriously need to prove better service, I rate you 3/10. 


rodajo235 wrote:

Just downloaded this product. I thought it was set up to be compatible with Windows 7 or I would have never purchased it in the first place. I downloaded the Red Alert 2 product and tried to play and got Error: Unable to set the video mode. I have gone into the compatibility settings and changed them to a variety of different operating systems including 95, 98, and XP. Should not sell a product that is indicated as Windows 7 compatible when its not. Need some help. Thanks.


 

Operative
Nyerguds
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

Look, you can complain all you want about how they packaged it... it's bad, okay? We know it, they probably know it too by now, complaining won't change a thing.

 

However, the link mrtnptrs gave WILL help you, so instead of complaining, just read it through, okay? It's usually just a matter of finding the game settings .ini file and adjusting it manually.

Keeper
dave8642
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-12-2014

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

the person has every right to complain as he bought the game that states it works on win7 only to find out this is not true and EA have given no help at all on fixing the problem. So if they want to complain and clear their frustrtation then so be it.

 

kl4ndri
Posts: 714
XP: 274
Solutions: 155
Registered: ‎08-03-2012

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

This board is hosted by EA with little EA official presence, almost all the work here is done by volunteers.

 

In most cases TUC is compatible with W7 without any problems. If he wants real EA help he should contact EA customer support. If he wants to vent, he should do so at the official EA/C&C forums (although the latter have nazi moderators and they'd lock the thread) but if he wants help with problems with the game he should come here. This issue in particular is well known and in the stickied thread called "Common Problems PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING" the solution can be found.

Sentinel
lvletho5
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-08-2014

Re: Error: Unable to set the video mode

[ Edited ]

Aggreed, this is more a forum of players helping players. Contact EA Support if you really have an issue, but ranting wont help you solve the problem.

 

So moving along....That link will prly fix your issue. In my case; I had to set my desktop resolution to 800x600, then launch the game, after which you can change the settings in-game to your actual native resolution and change your desktop back to normal.