Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Reply
Keeper
arcaniumixi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-10-2013

[SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "Crashes"

Always receiving a Error or "This Programe Has Stopped Working" whenever you start playing Battlefield 4 or During its startup (basically means the same anyways) I have been experiencing this kind of "annoying" stuffs since I bought Battlefield 4 2 days ago. After installation, you would mostly be like "YES! Finally! Get to play some Battlefield!:smileyvery-happy:"  Than when you click on "Play" via Origin, It starts normally, with a black screen with a "loading bar" at the right hand side. After 1 second, Boom. This Programme has stopped working. 

 

Searching all over the net, looking for fixes on all this crappy stuffs and errors, NONE of it WORKS.

 


So here are some solutions that you can use which might help you out. It worked for me since I bought BF4 till now.

 


[][] Experience Crashes & Stuffs [][]

 

Honestly speaking, I have not met any kind of crashes so far playing on Test Range, Multiplayer or Campaign. But when I was asking my other friends for solutions on fixing different kinds of error in BF4, They told me that you can update your drivers and try your playing BF4 again. 

 

[][] RegistryEditing For BattleField 4 [][]

 

RegEdit basically means RegisteryEditing. You can do so for most of the PC, here are some ways to access RegEdit via different "Windows"

 

Windows XP - Windows 7

> Start > RegEdit >  HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Wow6432Node > EA Games > Battlefield 4

> Now, click on Battlefield 4 and you will see a row called "Display Name" if your Battlefield 4 have the "TM" sign, remove it.

> Now go back to Origin / Battlefield 4 and relaunch it again. You can try running as a adminstrator as well.

 

Windows 8 - Windows 8.1 ++

> Move your mouse to the top right hand corner, and click the search button

> Search for "RegEdit" and click on Yes (If a pop message opens up)

> So the cycle is basically be the same with "Old Windows"

RegEdit >  HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Wow6432Node > EA Games > Battlefield 4

> Click on Battlefield 4 and you will see a row called "Display Name" if your Battlefield 4 have the "TM" sign, remove it.

> Now go back to Origin / Battlefield 4 and relaunch it again. You can try running as a adminstrator as well.

 

[][] Battlefield 4 Has Stopped Working (On StartUp - Multiplayer, Campaign & Test Range) [][]

 

This is basically what most of BF4 Users out there will be facing (same for me). As when I first bought BF4 and Installed, I pressed "Play" and it basically went "Not Responding" and closed the game itself. The way I managed to fix this, was by downloading GeForce Experience (http://www.geforce.com/geforce-experience) via their official website and on their menu, try launching BF4 from GeForce Experience and it might work smoothly, no "Stopped Working" or crashes happening during startup or during gameplay. It basically works just fine!

 

[][] Multiplayer - FPS Dropping so Badly / Lagging so Badly! [][]

 

This isn't really that common if your area isn't that populated. As the lower the population of your area, the higher connection speed you would be able to received. Well anyways, fixing this FPS Dropping or Lags in Multiplayer Mode is pretty simple. Open up your NotePad and key in this infromation in it. 

 

GameTime.MaxVariableFps 60
PerfOverlay.DrawFps 1
PostProcess.DynamicAOEnable 0
RenderDevice.Dx11Enable 0
RenderDevice.ForceRenderAheadLimit 1
RenderDevice.TripleBufferingEnable 0
WorldRender.DxDeferredCsPathEnable 0
WorldRender.FxaaEnable 0
WorldRender.MotionBlurEnable 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapEnable 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapResolution 256
WorldRender.TransparencyShadowmapsEnable 0

 

After that, save the NotePad to your Battlefield 4 directory, which would be C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4 Beta\ 

 

These are basically some problems that you users out there might be facing, anyways, If your still facing problems after trying this, Do post it down below and remember to include detailed infromation of the problem your facing in Battlefield 4 / During StartUp of Battlefield 4!

Keeper
ressurected69
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-13-2013

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

use razer game booster for Radeon users https://www.razerzone.com/au-en/gamebooster

Keeper
jerny85
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-11-2014

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

I tried to do everything you write and I still when I try to start the game write game stop working and the game is inserted, this happens to me in single player and Multi Player mode

Intel Core i7-4702MQ. GHz
geforce760m
8gb ram
windows8

Lookout
ibassyi
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-02-2013

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

[ Edited ]
arcaniumixi wrote:

 

GameTime.MaxVariableFps 60
PerfOverlay.DrawFps 1
PostProcess.DynamicAOEnable 0
RenderDevice.Dx11Enable 0
RenderDevice.ForceRenderAheadLimit 1
RenderDevice.TripleBufferingEnable 0
WorldRender.DxDeferredCsPathEnable 0
WorldRender.FxaaEnable 0
WorldRender.MotionBlurEnable 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapEnable 0
WorldRender.SpotLightShadowmapResolution 256
WorldRender.TransparencyShadowmapsEnable 0

____________________________________________________________________________________

 

just to let you know that this command "RenderDevice.ForceRenderAheadLimit 1" is now "RenderDevice.RenderAheadLimit 1" for me personally it works better with "0" or "2"

Keeper
PokerStarPwner
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-15-2014

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

It doesn't matter if you launch the game through the GeForce Experience because it launches from battlelog, try find another sulution to that because it does not help at all.

Zorlacc
Posts: 600
Topics: 2
XP: 288
Ideas: 2
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎12-22-2012

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

Same issue bios everything up to date and even turn off virus scan when I play nothing works for very long BF4 has stopped working so sick of this **bleep**.And yes did everything he said :/ 

 

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
M/B ASUS Maximus V1 Hero
Memory - 32 GB patriot G2 Seris DDR3
Win 8.1 64bit
power supply  HX 1000W Modular power supply
Video Card - GTX690
Monitor - Samsung MD230X3 Screen resolution 5760 X 1080 
Case - Antec Twelve Hundred

Keeper
karrd66
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-01-2014

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

i updated my radeon with the catalyst drivers to get watchdogs working.  When i tried battlefield 4 it started crashing at the beginning.  I did  rollback on my drivers and battlefield started working again.

Keeper
MajorBubbles96
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-27-2013

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

Exactly. I had 13.10 or something. It worked absolutly great. When I installed 14.16 to get Watchdogs running BF4 started to crash again midgame. Rolling back to 13 didnt help...

Zorlacc
Posts: 600
Topics: 2
XP: 288
Ideas: 2
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎12-22-2012

Re: [SOLUTION] How To Fix Battlefield 4 "Stopped Working" , "Errors" and "C

I may be able to help you now  this is what  fixed my many errors with BF4 from directx to BF4 stopped working as well as blue screens of death only in BF4 my list goes on with the errors I had on and off in BF4. I will post my whole fix  and since I did it all I now have zero errors in windows and in BF4. Windows may act stable but as I learned the hard way its not even after a clean install and half the battle with BF4 is stable windows. Its your choice or not if you do all my steps or not but this is what made me able to play BF4 now with no crashing or errors. :} Like you guys I tried every fix I could find for my errors but nothing fully fixed it just slowed down my errors in BF4  and this one I came up and omg it works at long last :]

 

Make sure every driver is new and update bios if need be.

 

I did many a step to get it good to go. My first advice to you is open event viewer and see how many errors you have NOT from BF4 crashes  this sec but other errors and if you have none count your blessings as it means you dont have homework like I did  lol :} Event viewer is going to be your new buddy so make a short cut to it on your desk top We will come back to it.

 

 

 

                              This next part works in all windows O/S vista win 7,8 and 8.1 windows system file checker  :]

 

...... sfc /scannow ..... ever hear of it  if not your going to love this .... it will inspect all the important windows files as well as the windows DLL files. If windows system file checker finds any issues with the windows files and windows DLL files it will replace them. This little tool as well as the event viewer saved me  and fully helped me fix my BF4 issues as well as saved my .... many a format since I found it.

 

        

1 - Open administrator command prompt  and close web pages and programs like origin

 

2 - Type or copy and paste in   sfc /scannow   and hit enter, This takes 5 min to 15 min  SSD vs HD

 

3 - This can go one of a few ways ..... no errors  ... it fixed some  errors  ..... could not fix all errors...... does not finish checking and errors out ....... and the last one could not fix errors at all :/

 

4 -After its done reboot and do it again even if you had no errors the first time or had errors, could not fix ...  run sfc /scannow  again and when its done a second time  reboot.

 

5- So if you ran it 2x and no errors your safe you can stop now for now  lol, If you had errors first time but not the second then run sfc /scannow  again and when its done reboot. You need to get could not find any errors 2 x to be safe. If it still finds errors try and run it a few more times until it finds no errors 2x AND ALWAYS REBOOT BETWEEN RUNNING sfc /scannow 

 

6 - If you get a message indicating that it can not be repaired and you ran sfc /scannow  2X then  if your O/S is Win8 or Win 8,1 then you can run this next command / line in administrator command prompt. Sadly this does not work for win vista or 7 :/  It will restore the health of your PC

 

dism.exe /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth   <------- ONLY works for windows 8 and 8.1

 

7 - When its done reboot

 

Ok so now you know your windows is fully stable just like BF4 lol :} Over the next few days or weeks  you may have to run  sfc /scannow again so this command line is like event viewer your new best buddy lol. In truth I have short cuts up for both on my desktop and run sfc /scannow less now but it was daily as I was fixing errors in my event viewer. And now run it once a week just to be sure windows is still good to go. So after all this if you still have new errors in event viewer you do need to deal with them to get BF4 fully good to go.  If you need help with errors in event viewer let me know if I can help I will as I bookmarked some good pages. My event viewer now has zero errors now but I still look at it daily :] Every once in a few one shows up and I google the event id and source with my O/s and look for the fix. Sometimes the error is just from installing or uninstalling a program.

 

Now the BF4 part this is what I did after I did all the stuff I just listed  above ......

 

CC Cleaner do you know  it ? If you dont have it its free and safe  and you need it for this next part lol  It is a handy tool as well.  http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

 

1- So what I did is went to tools in cc cleaner and uninstall BF4 and  then I went to  my Documents on my C drive and deleted the BF4 folder sitting in there, I have my BF4 installed on H drive but BF4 install still puts the BF4 screen shots and settings on your C drive my documents. And when you un install it stays even in windows add and remove programs. So the point is you want a fully clean install of BF4 delete the BF4 in my documents. Now reboot.

 

2- Open CC Cleaner again this time your going to registry dont get freaked out lol. All its going to do is remove fragments in the registry from uninstalled programs, It will give your the choice to back up do so if you wish. First time you run it you may have like 80 or more fixes but thats the normal. Empty recycle bin as well cant hurt all traces of BF4 must be gone.Now reboot again then just to be safe you run  sfc /scannow  just to be sure windows is still good to go. After it is done and if no errors you should be ok but if it finds errors well you know the drill run it again, And also check the registry again with CC Cleaner. Make sure everything is good clean and stable before you install BF4. Reboot after you do each step ! And ya you may have to run them all a few times before its fully clan and stable :/

 

3-Now D/L BF4 lol but dont pause it or let it get cut off lol I has to be one fully clean install done at one time.

 

This is everything I did to get my BF4 stable I hope it helps you and others as it  took me forever to find the full fix for me. All I know for sure is this is what worked for me and a few others now. So if it fixes it for you let me know and give me a XP if it fixes it for you so others know it worked.Also not sure if this helped but I do run Origin and BF4 as admin now just to be safe. If you still crash after all this double check to make sure all drivers etc are fully up to date or just run sfc /scannow again and see if it finds errors in your windows. Also when I quite a game twice I did get BF4 has stopped working in the last 2 weeks my heart sank but it was only when I QUITE THE GAME NOT MID Map:/ So all I did is reboot and no issue when I went back into BF4 and first time ever I have NEVER had to repair game since I did all the steps listed above :} If all this works for you give me a XP so others know it works  :} And mark your topic as solved.