Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Reply
Sentinel
xeroabsurdity
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Accepted Solution

BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

So, I double click the Beta icon, find a server and join it, but once I do, I cannot move, or click anything. None of my keys do anything. The game doesn't seem to be frozen, and I can see things moving about, but I have no input whatsoever. If I could get some help on this, it would be vastly appretiated. 

Sentinel
xeroabsurdity
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-03-2013

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

Just an update. I can hear ingame noises, hear chat, and for some reason I can still bring up the Origins menu, but once I do open up the Origins menu I can't do anything in it, except use Shift+F1 to close it. 

Sentinel
xeroabsurdity
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-03-2013

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

[ Edited ]

:manhappy: :manhappy: :manhappy: Another  update. I can spectate a game just fine.  :manhappy: :manhappy: :manhappy: My controls work, and my mouse ... actually  works. Too bad I can't play myself, but hey, I only paid 70 bucks right?:manhappy:  :manhappy: :manhappy: :manhappy: Why play when you can watch others play!? :manhappy:

Sentinel
xeroabsurdity
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-03-2013

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

Welp. No idea how or why, but doing this 

 

1 - GO TO BF4 FOLDER (C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4 Beta\__Installer\vc\vc2012Update3\redist)
2 - OPEN _INSTALLER
3 - OPEN VC
4 - OPEN VC2012UPDATE3

5 - OPEN REDIST 

 6 - THEN LAUNCH THE vcredist_x64.exe

 

Click in "reapair"

 

Fixed it, it seems. 

 

A big thanks to forei and tonfloorwalker apparently. 

EA_Bastian
Posts: 11,888
Topics: 111
XP: 1,322
Solutions: 3,961
Registered: ‎07-18-2012

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

That's really interesting to know. Good that you having your controls back. I will add that to our internal data collection. :smileyvery-happy:


See you on the battlefield!

Basti

Keeper
stern3d
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2013

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

I am still getting this problem, the repair trick didn't do anything. When I join the game I cannot click or use any leyboard buttons but I can open Origin in game.

 

I have tried a load of fixes but nothing. It's REALLY starting to get on my nervees

Keeper
cobjeet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-22-2013

Re: BF4 Beta. Can't control or input at all.

[ Edited ]

good set of instructions, I urge anyone having the problem to try this,

unfortunately these steps didn't help me. So the search continues

but thanks a million for the solution despite it didn't work for me :smileyhappy:

 

UPDATE

 

well it works now.. After repairing vcredist, updating directx and manually installing Punkbuster... I finally 

cringed and installed 331.40 nvidia beta drivers and that did it. The game now takes input..

 

Hope this helps

 

 

Cobjeet