Help us improve Answer HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks
Ask. Answer. Be the Hero.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Keeper
prestondocks
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2013

Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Hi, I just purchased a new PC which comes with windows 8. I installed battlefield 3 with no problems. I am able to start origin and choose a game to join, but it just keeps saying joining server.

 

I have tried running in nate mode and have also tried Compatibility mode (Windows 7 and Windows vista)

 

Please can you tell me what I have done wrong.

 

Thanks

Simon

Hero
XSV_NiTEMARE
Posts: 3,904
Registered: ‎09-17-2012

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Hi Simon!

 

It is because you can't connect to the EA server. Try to disable the firewall for the port you're using. Also, Battlefield 3/ Origin dosen't support Windows 8 to 100% at the moment. 

 

- With kind regards, Timmie.


Thank you for being part of the Answer HQ Community! If you need further assistance, please let us know right away!

Did a solution help you? Let everybody know by clicking on the "Accept as Solution" button.
Do you want to answer somebody's question? click on the "Reply" button.
If you are especially happy with someone's response, reward them by clicking on the "XP" button.
If you have something that you want to share that can help other players out (tips & tricks), don't hesitate to share these. Ask. Answer. Be the Hero!
Keeper
prestondocks
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2013

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Sorry, I dont understand. How can it not support the current version of windows shipping with new PC's. I mean it's not like Windows 8 only came out last week. The pre release versions were released in September 2011 and has been in mainstream release for about 4 months.

 

In all seriousnes though what is EA and Origin going to do as a company if their software does not support any of the PC's that their customers are currently purchasing. It is like opening a shop on the British or American High Street and only accepting Yen as a currency.

 

I am sure you must have some project management in place for the development of your software. So I would appretiate it if you could let us know the currently planned relase date for a Windows 8 compatible version of Origin.

 

I also spent quite a lot of time looking through your FAQ's and common problems pages and there is no reference to Windows 8 AT ALL. Since as already mentioned this is the latest and current release of operating sytem from Microsoft (Just in case you didn't know that Microsoft make Windows), it would seem that as a company you are in denial about such a huge huge problem.

 

You may think that my comments are retorical, but I and I am sure many of your other PAYING customers would appretiate an answer to the very simple questions above.

 

Many thanks.

 

 

Hero
XSV_NiTEMARE
Posts: 3,904
Registered: ‎09-17-2012

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Hi again!

 

I understand, since its launch, many players had the same problem. They downgraded from Windows 8 to Windows 7 and it have worked ever since. The problem is with the Windows 8 system. Have you updated all drivers etc?

 

http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/forum/threadview/2832654348314439337/

 

http://forums.techguy.org/games/1062060-solved-battlefield-3-wont-run.html

 

Timmie


Thank you for being part of the Answer HQ Community! If you need further assistance, please let us know right away!

Did a solution help you? Let everybody know by clicking on the "Accept as Solution" button.
Do you want to answer somebody's question? click on the "Reply" button.
If you are especially happy with someone's response, reward them by clicking on the "XP" button.
If you have something that you want to share that can help other players out (tips & tricks), don't hesitate to share these. Ask. Answer. Be the Hero!
Keeper
prestondocks
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2013

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

Down grading to windows 7 is not an option. I have a brand new PC with windows 8 on it why would I want to downgrade. 

 

 

Can you answer the simple question are you planning to release a Windows 8 compatible version of Origin and if so what is the current planned release date?

 

What do customers do with the software they have already invested in  with you and due to buying a new PC which runs the CURRENT version of windows are unable to use the software they purchased from you. Can they get a refund?

 

Thanks

Simon

Hero
XSV_NiTEMARE
Posts: 3,904
Registered: ‎09-17-2012

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

Hi again!

 

You will have to contact the support team if you need further details about this. - https://help.ea.com/contact-us

 

Timmie


Thank you for being part of the Answer HQ Community! If you need further assistance, please let us know right away!

Did a solution help you? Let everybody know by clicking on the "Accept as Solution" button.
Do you want to answer somebody's question? click on the "Reply" button.
If you are especially happy with someone's response, reward them by clicking on the "XP" button.
If you have something that you want to share that can help other players out (tips & tricks), don't hesitate to share these. Ask. Answer. Be the Hero!
Keeper
scsinutz123
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-27-2012

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

 


prestondocks wrote:

Down grading to windows 7 is not an option. I have a brand new PC with windows 8 on it why would I want to downgrade. 

 


 

 

Because Winblows 8 Sucks.

Keeper
spycorpz
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2013

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

I am currently using WIN8 and my origin and BF3 works perfectly. The only problem is afer 3 or 4 matches online, the game starts to lag and eventually freeze the whole computer, so I have to exit after every 2 or 3 games just so that the pc wont freeze. I am runing I5, 16gb ram, ATI Radeon HD 6850 so it is defenately not a hardware problem. 

Operative
rrangerrr
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-17-2013

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

Update driver video card http://Nvidia.com if have Geforce video card

Update punkbuster http://answers.ea.com/t5/Battlefield-3/kick-by-punkbuster/m-p/375606#U375606

Update DirectX

Disable Antivirus and Firewall

Disable Router if PC

Try play in multiplayer online games this bug connect only Bf3 ?

Try Internet Explorer 9 or Firefox http://Firefox.com browser and download and install new version Java java.com http://java.com and flash player http://get2.adobe.com/en/flashplayer/ in adobe.com and delete plugin in Programs delete Programs in control panel and reinstall plugin

You can update Bf3 in Origin open my games click mouse 2 button in Bf3 and check updates or repair game.

Reinstall Battlefield 3

live chat support Contact Us https://help.ea.com/en/battlefield/battlefield-3

Operative
rrangerrr
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-17-2013

Re: Battlefield 3 on Windows 8

[ Edited ]

spycorpz

 

Maybe cooler processor or video card problem

 

Ati Radeon bad. Buy Nvidia Geforce

for 16 gb memory need Windows 64 bit

Need Bios Default reset

And speedfan program need for temperature and cooler show